JOHN A. LOGAN COLLEGE Board of Trustees Carterville, Illinois

Minutes of the organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on Tuesday, April 22, 2025, commencing at 5:30 p.m. The meeting was open to the public and available via Zoom.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Bill Kilquist.

The Chairman directed the recording secretary to call the roll.

Rebecca Borgsmiller -- present
Brent Clark -- present
Bill Kilquist -- present
Mandy Little -- present
Glenn Poshard -- present
Jake Rendleman -- present
Aaron R. Smith -- present

Also present were President Kirk Overstreet, Legal Counsel Rhett Barke, Provost Stephanie Hartford, Vice President for Business Services & CFO Susan LaPanne, Recording Secretary Pixie Vaughn, and other college personnel.

Chairman Kilquist led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

Chairman Kilquist reported that the Student Trustee election results were in, and that Zoren Anako Mohamad Ali was the new Student Trustee winner. She took the Oath of Office and was seated as the new Student Trustee.

RESOLUTION DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE APRIL 1, 2025, ELECTION AS CANVASSED BY THE COUNTY CLERKS

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the election for members of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson, was held on the first day of April 2025; and

WHEREAS, on August 22, 2005, Illinois Public Act 94-0647 abolished local canvassing boards and transferred their duties to the county clerk; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the April 1, 2025, election and the abstract of the results thereof by the various election authorities were examined and canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk, and being in the due form of law; and

WHEREAS, a copy of the abstract executed by the Williamson County Clerk has been forwarded to the local election official of Community College District No. 530.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED as follows:

That the election held on the first day of April 2025 was held in all respects as provided by law, and the election returns have been duly canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk's office and filed with the Secretary of the Board.

That the following total votes were cast in Community College District #530 in favor of the following candidates:

For the election of TWO persons to serve full six-year terms:

William J. Kilquist 6,301 Aaron R. Smith 6,066

That William J. Kilquist and Aaron R. Smith be declared to be duly elected to the office of member of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson; and that this resolution is in full force and effect from and after its adoption.

Chairman Kilquist stated upon roll call that the Board of Trustees approve the resolution declaring the results of the April 1, 2025, election as canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk and officially seat William J. Kilquist and Aaron R. Smith as members of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees for full, six-year terms which will expire in 2031.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4391)

NEW BOARD SEATED

The new members were sworn in by Secretary Jake Rendleman.

ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

Trustee Glenn Poshard proceeded with the election of officers.

A. Election of Board Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary

Trustee Glenn Poshard reported receiving four nominations: two for Board Chair and two for Board Vice Chair. The two nominations for Board Chair were Bill Kilquist and Aaron Smith. Trustee Poshard asked if there were any other nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor. Trustee Poshard proceeded with a statement on behalf of Bill Kilquist. Dr. Poshard nominated Bill Kilquist for Chair. Trustee Poshard asked if anyone else would like to speak on someone else's behalf; the floor was open. Trustee Dr. Brent Clark spoke on behalf of Aaron Smith. Trustee Dr. Brent Clark nominated Aaron Smith for Chair. Trustee Poshard said they would vote first on Mr. Bill Kilquist. Dr. Poshard asked for a roll call vote. Dr. Poshard stated that Mr. Kilquist, not having received the majority of votes from those qualified to vote on the board, will move forward with Mr. Aaron Smith. Trustee Poshard asked for a roll call vote. Trustee Poshard stated that getting the number of votes from those qualified to vote on the board would declare Mr. Smith the owner of the board Chairmanship.

Upon roll call, members voted for Bill Kilquist as Board Chair: Mandy Little – no; Glenn Poshard – yes; Jake Rendleman – yes; Aaron Smith – no; Becky Borgsmiller – no; Brent Clark – no; Zoren Anako Mohamad Ali (Student Trustee) – yes; Bill Kilquist – yes.

Upon roll call, members voted that Aaron Smith be Board Chair: Glenn Poshard – no; Jake Rendleman – no; Aaron Smith – yes; Becky Borgsmiller – yes; Brent Clark – yes; Mandy Little – yes; Zoren Anako Mohamad Ali (Student Trustee) – yes; Bill Klquist – no.

Trustee Poshard moved forward with the election of the Vice-Chair. Dr. Poshard stated that they had two people who had submitted a nomination request. One was for Jake Rendleman and one for Mandy Little. Dr. Poshard nominated Jake Rendleman as Vice-Chair and spoke on his behalf. Trustee Mandy Little stated that she would like to pull her name and put her support behind Jake. Trustee Glenn Poshard stated that he would move by acclamation that they would elect Jake Rendleman as the Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees. Dr. Poshard stated they did not have to do a roll call, but all in favor say I and none opposed.

Trustee Poshard indicated that they did not have any nominations for the election of Board Secretary. He asked for a nomination from the floor. Trustee Mandy Little nominated Becky Borgsmiller. Dr. Glenn Poshard asked for a roll call. Trustee Poshard stated that Becky was the board's new secretary by vote.

Upon roll call, members voted for Becky Borgsmiller as Board Secretary: Aaron Smith – yes; Becky Borgsmiller – yes; Brent Clark – yes; Mandy Little – yes; Glenn Poshard – yes; Jake Rendleman – yes; Zoren Anako Mohamad Ali (Student Trustee) – yes; Bill Kilquist – no.

B. Election of Board Treasurer

Trustee Poshard said they needed to appoint Dr. LaPanne as the board's treasurer and asked for a roll call.

Dr. Brent Clark and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees elect Dr. Susan LaPanne, as the Board Treasurer.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4392)

ESTABLISHMENT OF TIME AND PLACE FOR REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Chairman Kilquist stated they needed to establish a time and place for the Board of Trustees meetings. He recommended they continue on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. and hold no meeting in December. He asked for a roll call.

Bill Kilquist and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees establish 6:00 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month, except for December, as the time and date for its regular meetings.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4393)

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Kilquist asked that they adjourn the Organizational Meeting. The regular Board of Trustees meeting will start at 6:00 p.m. He asked for a roll call.

Mandy Little and Glenn Poshard moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees organizational meeting be adjourned.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4394)

The meeting was duly adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Pixie Vaughn, Recording Secretary.

Bill Kilquest, Chairman

Willen J. Liffinst

Jake Rendleman, Secretary