JOHNA. LOGAN COLLEGE Carterville, IL 62918

Minutes of the special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on September 7, 2011, commencing at 5:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Mike Hopkins.

The chair directed the recording secretary to call the roll:

Don Brewer -- present
John O'Keefe -- present
Jake Rendleman -- present
Jim Snider -- present
Jackie Hancock -- present
John Sanders -- present
Mandy Little -- absent
Michael Hopkins -- present

Also present were: Robert L. Mees, President; John Huffman, College Legal Counsel; Clay Brewer, Director of Human Resources; Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees; and Search Committee members Stacy Buckingham and Robyn Stevens.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

None.

Board Chair Mike Hopkins recognized Trustees Don Brewer and Jake Rendleman who served on the Vice-President for Instruction Search Committee. Mr. Brewer gave the Board a brief overview of the search process.

CLOSED SESSION

Board Chair Mike Hopkins stated it was desirable to hold a closed session to discuss the appointment, employment, and compensation of specific individuals; and that he would appreciate Board action and a roll call vote to that effect.

John Sanders and Jim Snider moved and seconded that the special meeting of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be declared in closed session.

Upon roll call, all members voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2660)

The meeting was declared in closed session at 6:05 p.m.

The meeting was declared back in regular session at 9:04 p.m.

CONTINUATION OF MEETING

John Sanders and Jim Snider moved and seconded that the special meeting of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be continued on September 27, 2011, at 5:30 p.m., in the Board Room of the Administration Building.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2661)

Respectfully submitted: Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Mike Hopkins, Chair

Jackie Hancock, Secretary