JOHN A. LOGAN COLLEGE Carterville, Illinois

Minutes of the organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on April 28, 2011, commencing at 6:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Mike Hopkins.

The chair directed the recording secretary to call the roll:

Don Brewer -- present
Jaclyn Hancock -- absent
Jake Rendleman -- present
Jim Snider -- present
John O'Keefe -- present
John Sanders -- present
Mandy Little -- present
Michael Hopkins -- present

Also present were: Robert L. Mees, President; Brad McCormick, Vice-President for Business Services and College Facilities; Tim Daugherty, Vice-President for Administration; Julia Schroeder, Vice-President for Instruction; John Huffman, College Legal Counsel; Steve O'Keefe, Director of Community Relations and Marketing; Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees; and other College personnel.

Board Chair Hopkins led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

None.

RESOLUTION DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE APRIL 5, 2011, ELECTION AS CANVASSED BY THE COUNTY CLERKS

The following resolution was presented for Board action:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the election for members of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson, was held on the 5th day of April, 2011; and

WHEREAS, on August 22, 2005, Illinois Public Act 94-0647 abolished local canvassing boards and transferred their duties to the county clerk; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the April 5, 2011, election and the abstract of the results thereof by the various election authorities were examined and canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk and being in the due form of law; and

WHEREAS, a copy of the abstract executed by the Williamson County Clerk has been forwarded to the local election official of Community College District No. 530.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED as follows:

That the election held on the 5th day of April 2011, was held in all respects as provided by law; and the returns of the election have been duly canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk's office and filed with the Secretary of the Board;

That the following total votes were cast in Community College District #530 in favor of the following candidates:

For the election of two persons to serve full six-year terms:

Jaclyn "Jackie" Hancock	7,254
Donald L. "Don" Brewer	7,125
Cheryl Graff	5,712
Mark Whitehead	6,421

For the election of one person to serve a two-year term:

John O'Keefe 11,790

That Jaclyn "Jackie" Hancock and Donald L. "Don" Brewer received the highest number of votes cast for the two full six-year terms; and John O'Keefe received the highest number of votes cast for the two-year term; and each of them is declared to be duly elected to the office of member of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph and Williamson; and

That this resolution be in full force and effect from and after its adoption.

Jim Snider and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees approve the resolution declaring the results of the April 5, 2011, election as canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk, and officially seat Jaclyn "Jackie" Hancock and Donald L. "Don" Brewer as members of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees for full, six-year terms, and John O'Keefe as a member of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees for a two-year term.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2590)

RECOGNITION OF CHERYL GRAFF FOR SERVICE TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board Chair Mike Hopkins and President Robert Mees recognized Cheryl Graff in appreciation for her service to the Board of Trustees and presented her with a plaque. Ms. Graff thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve.

Board Chair Hopkins presented Certificates of Election to Jackie Hancock, Don Brewer and John O'Keefe. He complimented everyone who ran in the Board of Trustees election, stating that it spoke well for the College that such a fine field of candidates wanted to run.

Board Chair Hopkins welcomed College legal counsel John Huffman to the meeting, stating that it was good to have him back after his recent health issues. Mr. Hopkins thanked Mr. Huffman for all he does for the College.

ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

A. Report of Nominating Committee

Board Chair Hopkins asked the Nominating Committee (Jim Snider and John O'Keefe) to report to the Board. Jim Snider reported that the following letters of interest had been received:

Board Chair – Mike Hopkins Board Vice-Chair – Jim Snider Board Secretary – Jackie Hancock and Jake Rendleman

There were no other nominations from the floor.

B. Election of Board Chair

John Sanders and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the nominations for Board Chair be closed.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2591)

John Sanders and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees elect Mike Hopkins as chair.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2592)

C. <u>Election of Board Vice-Chair</u>

Don Brewer and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the nominations for Board Vice-Chair be closed.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2593)

John Sanders and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees elect Jim Snider as Vice-Chair.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2594)

D. Election of Board Secretary

John Sanders and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the nominations for Board Secretary be closed.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2595)

Jake Rendleman addressed the Board regarding his qualifications for the position of secretary.

Board Chair Mike Hopkins asked for a vote by secret ballot to select either Jackie Hancock or Jake Rendleman as Board Secretary.

The recording secretary distributed, collected, and counted the ballots. The vote was Jackie Hancock - 4; Jake Rendleman - 2. Jackie Hancock was declared the winner of the election for Board Secretary.

(Resolution #16-2596)

E. Election of Board Treasurer

John Sanders and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that Vice President for Business Services and College Facilities Brad McCormick be elected Board Treasurer.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2597)

ESTABLISHMENT OF TIME AND PLACE FOR REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

John Sanders and Jim Snider moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees hold its regular meetings on the fourth Tuesday of each month, with the exception of the month of December, at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Administration Building on the College's Carterville campus.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2598)

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

ADJOURNMENT

Logan College Board of Trustees be adjourned.
A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2599)
The meeting was duly adjourned.
Respectfully submitted: Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Mike Hopkins, Chair
wine Hopkins, Chair

John O'Keefe, Acting Secretary

John Sanders and John O'Keefe moved and seconded that the organizational meeting of the John A.