JOHN A. LOGAN COLLEGE Carterville, IL 62918

Minutes of the special meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on October 19, 2011, commencing at 7:00 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Mike Hopkins.

The chair directed the recording secretary to call the roll:

Don Brewer -- present
John O'Keefe -- present
Jake Rendleman -- present
Jim Snider -- present
Jackie Hancock -- present
John Sanders -- present
Mandy Little -- present
Michael Hopkins -- present

Also present were: Robert L. Mees, President; John Huffman, College Legal Counsel; Clay Brewer, Director of Human Resources; Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees; and other College personnel.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS/QUESTIONS

None.

CLOSED SESSION

Board Chair Mike Hopkins stated it was desirable to hold a closed session to discuss the appointment, employment, and compensation of specific individuals; and that he would appreciate Board action and a roll call vote to that effect.

John O'Keefe and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the special meeting of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be declared in closed session.

Upon roll call, all members voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2675)

The meeting was declared in closed session at 7:03 p.m.

The meeting was declared back in regular session at 7:58 p.m.

PERSONNEL

President Mees recommended and Jim Snider and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees employ Dr. Deborah Payne as Vice-President for Instructional Services at John A. Logan College effective December 1, 2011.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2676)

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

ADJOURNMENT

John Sanders and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the special meeting of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be adjourned.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-2677)

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Respectfully submitted: Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Mike Hopkins, Chair

Jackie Hancock, Secretary