## JOHN A. LOGAN COLLEGE

# Carterville, Illinois

Minutes of the organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on April 28, 2015, commencing at 6:30 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by Board Chair Jake Rendleman.

The chair directed the recording secretary to call the roll:

Don Brewer -- present
Cheryl Graff -- present
Bill Kilquist -- present
Jackie Hancock -- present
Brandi Husch -- present
Michael Hopkins -- absent
Jake Rendleman -- present

Also present were: Mike Dreith, President; Brad McCormick, Vice-President for Business Services and College Facilities; Tim Daugherty, Vice-President for Student Affairs and Community Education; Laurel Klinkenberg, Vice-President for Instruction; Don Prosser, College Legal Counsel; Steve O'Keefe, Director of College Relations; Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees; and other College personnel.

Board Chair Rendleman led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

## **OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS/QUESTIONS**

None.

# RESOLUTION DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE APRIL 7, 2015, ELECTION AS CANVASSED BY THE COUNTY CLERKS (Appendix I)

#### **RESOLUTION**

WHEREAS, the election for members of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson, was held on the 7<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2015; and

WHEREAS, on August 22, 2005, Illinois Public Act 94-0647 abolished local canvassing boards and transferred their duties to the county clerk; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the April 7, 2015, election and the abstract of the results thereof by the various election authorities were examined and canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk and being in the due form of law; and

WHEREAS, a copy of the abstract executed by the Williamson County Clerk has been forwarded to the local election official of Community College District No. 530.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED as follows:

That the election held on the 7<sup>th</sup> day of April 2015, was held in all respects as provided by law; and the returns of the election have been duly canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk's office and filed with the Secretary of the Board;

That the following total votes were cast in Community College District #530 in favor of the following candidates:

For the election of three persons to serve full six-year terms:

Bill Alstat	5,381
Jacob "Jake" Rendleman	8,655
Mandy Little	5,196
Brad Heuring	4,659
Ray Hancock	7,162

That Jacob "Jake" Rendleman, Ray Hancock, and Bill Alstat received the highest number of votes cast for the three full six-year terms; and each of them is declared to be duly elected to the office of member of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph and Williamson; and

That this resolution be in full force and effect from and after its adoption.

Don Brewer and Cheryl Graff moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees approve the resolution declaring the results of the April 7, 2015, election as canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk, and officially seat Jacob "Jake" Rendleman, Ray Hancock, and Bill Alstat as members of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees for full, six-year terms which will expire in 2021.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3153)

## **NEW BOARD SEATED**

Each of the newly elected trustees were presented with a Certificate of Election, and new trustees Ray Hancock and Bill Alstat took their places at the board table.

## **ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS**

## A. Election of Board Chair

Nominating Committee Chair Cheryl Graff reported she and committee member Don Brewer had met. Letters of interest had been received for board chair, but the committee did not reach a consensus; therefore nominations from the floor were accepted.

#### Nominations from Floor

Bill Kilquist nominated Don Brewer for Board Chair.

Ray Hancock nominated Jackie Hancock for Board Chair.

Bill Kilquist and Bill Alstat moved and seconded that the nominations for Board Chair be closed.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3154)

Board Chair Rendleman asked for a roll call vote on nominees Don Brewer and Jackie Hancock for Board Chair.

Upon roll call, members voted as follows: Don Brewer – Don Brewer; Bill Alstat – Don Brewer; Bill Kilquist – Don Brewer; Jackie Hancock – Jackie Hancock; Cheryl Graff – Jackie Hancock; Ray Hancock – Jackie Hancock; Brandi Husch (advisory vote) – Jackie Hancock; Jake Rendleman – Don Brewer.

Don Brewer was declared Board Chair. (Resolution #16-3155)

## B. Election of Board Vice-Chair (Roll Call Vote)

Nominating Committee Chair Cheryl Graff reported the committee had received a letter of interest from Bill Kilquist for the office of Board Vice-Chair, and stated that Mr. Kilquist is the Nominating Committee's recommendation.

There were no nominations from the floor.

Bill Alstat and Jackie Hancock moved and seconded that the nominations for Board Vice-Chair be closed.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3156)

Board Chair Rendleman asked for a roll call vote to elect Bill Kilquist as Board Vice-Chair.

Upon roll call, members voted as follows: Don Brewer – yes; Bill Alstat – yes; Bill Kilquist – yes; Jackie Hancock – abstain; Cheryl Graff – yes; Ray Hancock – yes; Brandi Husch – yes; and Jake Rendleman – yes.

Bill Kilquist was declared Board Vice-Chair. (Resolution #16-3157)

## C. Election of Board Secretary (Roll Call Vote)

Nominating Committee Chair Cheryl Graff reported the committee had received a letter of interest from Jake Rendleman for the office of Board Secretary, and stated that Mr. Rendleman is the Nominating Committee's recommendation.

There were no nominations from the floor.

Jackie Hancock and Bill Alstat moved and seconded that the nominations for Board Secretary be closed.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried (Resolution #16-3158)

Board Chair Rendleman asked for a roll call vote to elect Jake Rendleman as Board Secretary.

Upon roll call, members voted as follows: Don Brewer – yes; Bill Alstat – yes; Bill Kilquist – yes; Jackie Hancock – abstain; Cheryl Graff – yes; Ray Hancock – yes; Brandi Husch – yes; and Jake Rendleman – yes.

Jake Rendleman was declared Board Secretary. (Resolution #16-3159)

## D. <u>Election of Board Treasurer (Voice Vote)</u>

Bill Kilquist and Jackie Hancock moved and seconded that Vice-President for Business Services and College Facilities Brad McCormick be named treasurer of the Board of Trustees.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3160)

## ESTABLISHMENT OF TIME AND PLACE FOR REGULAR MEEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Jackie Hancock and Bill Kilquist moved and seconded that the regular meetings of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be held on the fourth Tuesday of each month (with the exception of the month of December) at 7:00 p.m., in the Board Room of the Administration Building on the College's Carterville campus.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3161)

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

None.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Jackie Hancock and Bill Alstat moved and seconded that the organizational meeting of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be adjourned.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3162)

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Respectfully submitted: Donna Glodjo, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Jake Rendleman, Chair

Cheryl Graff, Secretary