JOHN A. LOGAN COLLEGE Board of Trustees Carterville, Illinois

Minutes of the organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on Tuesday, April 25, 2023, commencing at 5:30 p.m. The meeting was open to the public and available via Zoom.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Bill Kilquist.

The Chairman directed the recording secretary to call the roll.

Rebecca Borgsmiller	present
Brent Clark	present
Bill Kilquist	present
Mandy Little	present
Glenn Poshard	present
Jake Rendleman	present
Aaron R. Smith	present

Also present were President Kirk Overstreet, Legal Counsel Rhett Barke, Provost Melanie Pecord, Vice President Stacy Buckingham, Recording Secretary Susan May, and other College personnel.

Chairman Kilquist led the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

RESOLUTION DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE APRIL 4, 2023, ELECTION AS CANVASSED BY THE COUNTY CLERKS

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the election for members of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson, was held on the fourth day of April 2023; and

WHEREAS, on August 22, 2005, Illinois Public Act 94-0647 abolished local canvassing boards and transferred their duties to the county clerk; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the April 4, 2023, election and the abstract of the results thereof by the various election authorities were examined and canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk and being in the due form of law; and

WHEREAS, a copy of the abstract executed by the Williamson County Clerk has been forwarded to the local election official of Community College District No. 530. NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED as follows:

That the election held on the 4th day of April 2023 was held in all respects as provided by law, and the returns of the election have been duly canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk's office and filed with the Secretary of the Board;

That the following total votes were cast in Community College District #530 in favor of the following candidates:

For the election of TWO persons to serve full six-year terms:

Rebecca "Becky" Borgsmiller	7,880
Mandy Jo Lynn Little	6,800

That Rebecca "Becky" Borgsmiller and Mandy Jo Lynn Little be declared to be duly elected to the office of member of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson; and that this resolution is in full force and effect from and after its adoption.

Aaron Smith and Brent Clark moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees approve the resolution declaring the results of the April 4, 2023, election as canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk and officially seat Rebecca Borgsmiller and Mandy Little as members of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees for full, six-year terms which will expire in 2029.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4305)

NEW BOARD SEATED

The new members were sworn in by Chairman Kilquist.

ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

A. <u>Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of Officers</u>

Nominating Committee Chair Aaron Smith reported receiving only one request for the office of Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary, and there was no contest for the officer positions. Trustee Smith recommended that the Board accept the applications received from Trustee Bill Kilquist for Board Chairman, Trustee Aaron Smith for Vice-Chairman, and Trustee Jake Rendleman for Secretary.

Aaron Smith and Glenn Poshard moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees elect William J. Kilquist as Chairman, Aaron Smith as Vice-Chairman, and Jake Rendleman as Secretary to serve a two-year term.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4306)

B. Election of Board Treasurer

Mandy Little and Jake Rendleman moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees elect Stacy Buckingham, Vice-President for Business Services and CFO, as the Board Treasurer.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4307)

ESTABLISHMENT OF TIME AND PLACE FOR REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Chairman Kilquist recommended that the Board of Trustees continue the traditional meeting schedule of 6:00 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month, except for December.

Aaron Smith and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees establish 6:00 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month, except for December, as the time and dates for the regular meetings of the Board of Trustees.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4308)

ADJOURNMENT

Mandy Little and Jake Rendleman moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees organizational meeting be adjourned.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-4309)

The meeting was duly adjourned at 5:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Susan May, Recording Secretary.

William J. Kilquist, Chair

Jacob "Jake" Rendleman, Secretary