JOHN A. LOGAN COLLEGE

Carterville, Illinois

Minutes of the organizational meeting of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Williamson, Jackson, Franklin, Perry, and Randolph, State of Illinois, held at Carterville, Illinois, on April 23, 2019, commencing at 6:00 p.m.

The meeting was called to order by Board Chair William Kilquist.

The Chair directed the recording secretary to call the roll:

Rebecca Borgsmiller -- present Ray Hancock -- present Mandy Little -- present William Orrill -- not present Glenn Poshard -- present Jake Rendleman -- present Hanna Dobrynski -- present Bill Kilquist -- present

Also present were: Ron House, president; Brad McCormick, vice-president for business services and college facilities; Rhett Barke, legal counsel; Susan May, recording secretary to the Board of Trustees; and other College personnel.

OPPORTUNITY FOR PUBLIC COMMENTS/QUESTIONS – None.

RESOLUTION DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE APRIL 2, 2019, ELECTION AS CANVASSED BY THE COUNTY CLERKS

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the election for members of the Board of Trustees of Community College District No. 530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph, and Williamson, was held on the 2nd day of April 2019; and

WHEREAS, on August 22, 2005, Illinois Public Act 94-0647 abolished local canvassing boards and transferred their duties to the county clerk; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the April 2, 2019, election and the abstract of the results thereof by the various election authorities were examined and canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk and being in the due form of law; and

WHEREAS, a copy of the abstract executed by the Williamson County Clerk has been forwarded to the local election official of Community College District No. 530.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED as follows:

That the election held on the 2nd day of April 2019, was held in all respects as provided by law; and the returns of the election have been duly canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk's office and filed with the Secretary of the Board;

That the following total votes were cast in Community College District #530 in favor of the following candidates:

For the election of two persons to serve full six-year terms:

William L. Orrill	3,387
William Jon Kilquist	6,703
John Streuter	5,277
Aaron R. Smith	5,866
John S. Hackmann, II	1,701

That **William Jon Kilquist** and **Aaron R. Smith** received the highest number of votes cast for the two six-year terms; and each of them is declared to be duly elected to the office of member of the Board of Trustees of Community College District #530, Counties of Franklin, Jackson, Perry, Randolph and Williamson; and

That this resolution be in full force and effect from and after its adoption.

Mandy Little and Ray Hancock moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees approve the resolution declaring the results of the April 2, 2019, election as canvassed by the Williamson County Clerk, and officially seat **William Jon Kilquist** and **Aaron R. Smith** as members of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees for six-year terms which will expire in 2025.

Upon roll call, all members present voted yes. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3861)

NEW BOARD SEATED

Newly-elected Trustee Aaron Smith took his place at the board table.

ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

Nominating Committee members Jake Rendleman (chair) and Glenn Poshard proceeded with the election of board officers.

A. Election of Board Chair

Trustee Glenn Poshard reported that the Nominating Committee received two letters of nomination for chair of the Board of Trustees: Mr. Bill Kilquist and Dr. Ray Hancock. Trustee Poshard asked for any other nominations from the floor. Hearing none, the Nominating Committee made a recommendation to elect Mr. Bill Kilquist for chair of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

Mandy Little and Glenn Poshard moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees accept the recommendation of the Nominating Committee to elect Bill Kilquist as chair of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

Upon roll call, members voted as follows: Mandy Little – yes; Glenn Poshard – yes; Jake Rendleman – yes; Aaron Smith – no; Becky Borgsmiller – no; Ray Hancock – no; Hanna Dobrynski (advisory vote) – yes; and Bill Kilquist – yes.

Bill Kilquist received a majority vote and was declared chair of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

(Resolution #16-3862)

B. Election of Board Vice-Chair

Trustee Glenn Poshard reported that the Nominating Committee received one letter of nomination for vice-chair of the Board of Trustees from Ms. Mandy Little. Trustee Poshard asked for any other nominations from the floor. Hearing none, the Nominating Committee recommended Mandy Little for vice-chair of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

Bill Kilquist and Hanna Dobrynski moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees approve the nomination of Mandy Little as vice-chair of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

Upon roll call, members voted as follows: Glenn Poshard – yes; Jake Rendleman – yes; Aaron Smith – yes; Becky Borgsmiller – yes; Ray Hancock – yes; Mandy Little – yes; Hanna Dobrynski (advisory vote) – yes; and Bill Kilquist – yes.

Mandy Little received a unanimous vote and was declared vice-chair of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

(Resolution #16-3863)

C. <u>Election of Board Secretary</u>

Trustee Glenn Poshard reported that the Nominating Committee received one letter of nomination for secretary of the Board of Trustees from Mr. Jake Rendleman. Trustee Poshard asked for any other nominations from the floor. Hearing none, the Nominating Committee recommended Jake Rendleman for secretary of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

Bill Kilquist and Glenn Poshard moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees approve the nomination of Jake Rendleman as secretary of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

Upon roll call, members voted as follows: Jake Rendleman – yes; Aaron Smith – yes; Becky Borgsmiller – yes; Ray Hancock – yes, Mandy Little – yes; Glenn Poshard – yes; Hanna Dobrynski (advisory vote) – yes; and Bill Kilquist – yes.

Jake Rendleman received a unanimous vote and was declared secretary of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

(Resolution #16-3864)

D. Election of Board Treasurer

Glenn Poshard and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the Board of Trustees elect Vice-President for Business Services and College Facilities Brad McCormick as treasurer of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3865)

ESTABLISHMENT OF TIME AND PLACE FOR REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Bill Kilquist and Glenn Poshard moved and seconded that the regular meetings of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be held on the fourth Tuesday of each month (with the exception of the month of December) at 7:00 p.m., in the Board Room of the Administration Building on the College's Carterville campus.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3866)

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Chair Kilquist expressed his desire to adjust the meeting time in the future to provide the opportunity for an interactive session with the John A. Logan College Student Senate.

ADJOURNMENT

Jake Rendleman and Mandy Little moved and seconded that the organizational meeting of the John A. Logan College Board of Trustees be adjourned.

A voice vote showed all in favor. Motion carried. (Resolution #16-3867)

The meeting was duly adjourned at 6:13 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Susan May, Recording Secretary to the Board of Trustees

William Kilquist, Chair

Jake Rendleman, Secretary