July 17, 2017

CARTERVILLE — John A. Logan College is planning a celebration of its 50th anniversary for Nov. 3rd and 4th.

Led by Tim Williams and Dr. Steve O’Keefe, a committee formed to outline plans for those days has been meeting and making progress with the two-day event.

O’Keefe, a 20-year employee at the College with experience in College relations, student advisement, and classroom instruction, also played a major role in the planning of the College’s 40th anniversary celebration.

“This College has such a rich history of serving Southern Illinois,” O’Keefe said. “It’s important to recognize and celebrate what has taken place during this time. What this College has done for our area is extraordinary.”

Williams, dean of student services at JALC, pointed out that more than 35,000 people have obtained diplomas and certificates from John A. Logan College. “This College has touched the lives of many, many people,” Williams said. “So many individuals who have gone on to do great things with their education. It’s something to be proud of and to be remembered.”

The celebration will take place in two parts during the two days. On Friday, Nov. 3, Dr. Ron House, president of John A. Logan College, will lead a formal dinner where past presidents and past board members will be recognized. Dr. Nathan Ivey, the College’s first president, plans on being in attendance.

“Dr. Ivey’s initial leadership of this College was absolutely critical in putting it on the right path to the great success it has achieved,” House said.

On Saturday, Nov. 4, a “carnival atmosphere” at the College is planned, O’Keefe said, with music, games, bounce houses for children and more. The evening will conclude with the John A. Logan College men’s basketball team in action in the Donald L. Brewer Gymnasium.

Staci Shafer, executive director of the John A. Logan College Foundation and committee member, also hinted of money being raised for a special 50th anniversary scholarship or scholarships to be given out during high school orientations during the spring.

“It’s important to note that all of this will be taking place with volunteers and at no cost to the College,” Williams said. “People are excited about this 50th celebration and we are gaining more momentum everyday.”

Other committee members include: Chris Naegele, Adrienne Barkley Giffin, Michelle Hamilton, Krystal Reagan, Susan May, Melanie Pecord, Tim Gibson, Nathan Arnett, Sharyl Melvin, Bob Fester (a retired JALC employee), and Shannon Woodworth.