April 22, 2016

Logan Media Services

CARTERVILLE – Forty area high school students were award winners at the annual John A. Logan College Business Contest held Thursday in the conference center.

High schools attending this year’s contest from within the JALC district included: Carterville, Crab Orchard, Du Quoin Christian Fellowship, Elverado, Herrin, Johnston City, Marion, and Trico.                             

Seniors had the opportunity to compete in either the Cyber Team Scholarship or Business Scholarship Competition for a two-year scholarship to John A. Logan College.  Coby Faurer from Crab Orchard received the Business Scholarship. 

JALC President Dr. Ron House delivered a welcome to the students during the opening session, and Lora Hines, Department of Business Chairperson, presented an overview of the Department of Business to the students. 

“The high school business contest is an excellent opportunity for students to compete in a rigorous event,” said Dr. Jason tanner, Professor of Business and coordinator of the annual contest. “It is a privilege to welcome students from local high schools to our campus every year.”

JALC full-time and term faculty members were involved in administering the various competitions.

Students had the opportunity to compete in Accounting I, Accounting II, Business Communication, Business Math, General Business, Keyboarding, Medical Terminology, and Personal Computer Security. 

Individual competition winners included the following:

Accounting I (Jack Currie-Carterville, first; Kaylee Baker-Crab Orchard, second; Kara Bunselmeyer-Trico, third; Ellie Kuhlman-Trico, fourth; and Mikayla Chamness-Crab Orchard, fifth.

Accounting II: Jake Griffin-Marion, first; Brandon Lynn-Marion, second; and Aaron Farthing-Marion, third.

Business Communication: Nicolle Grant-Johnston City, first; Lexi Chrostoski-Herrin, second; Mikayla Cain-Johnston City, third; Hayley Bays-Crab Orchard, fourth; and Brooke Whittington-Elverado, fifth.

Business Math: Clayton Selby-Johnston City, first; Stephanie Schulz-Crab Orchard, second; Alex Meade-Carterville, third; Rylee Hammonds-Marion, fourth; and Destiny Barnett-Crab Orchard, fifth.

General Business: Noah Ford-Carterville, first; Amber Miller-Marion, second; Emma Bigham-Elverado, third; Alexis Wagner-Marion, fourth; and Jessica Buckner-Johnston City, fifth.

Keyboarding: Callie Vaughn-Crab Orchard, first; Clay Fowler-Johnston City, second; Avery Graul-Crab Orchard, third; Dakota Brown-Crab Orchard, fourth; and Brittney Gibbons-Johnston City, fifth.

Medical Terminology: Joshua Thornton-Johnston City, first; Jacee Baker-Marion, second; Emily West-Johnston City, third; Abbie Thompson-Marion, fourth; and Haley Van-Crab Orchard, fifth.

Personal Computer Security: Conner Bybee-Carterville, first; Ashton DeRousse-Carterville, second; Jacob Janz-Marion, third; Dakota Bennett-Johnston City, fourth; and Devin Beasley-Crab Orchard and James Jessup-Carterville tied for fifth.

Altogether, there were over 130 students participating in the contest with 12 faculty members representing the eight schools competing.