May 6, 2014

Logan Media Services

CARTERVILLE - The best and the brightest among John A. Logan College students were recognized at the College’s Annual Honors Night on May 5.  The following departmental awards were presented: Outstanding Allied Health and Public Service Student, Heather Baily; Southern Illinois Dental Society Scholarship for Dental Assisting, Jasmine Garner; Southern Illinois Dental Society Scholarship for Dental Hygiene, Michelle Leming; Outstanding Business Administration and Accounting Students, Brandi Dotson and Lauren Sherry; Outstanding Accounting Student, Sara Petrowske; Outstanding Economics Student, Caleb Southerland; Outstanding Computer Forensics Student, Kylee Williams; Outstanding Computer Support and Networking Student, Krystopher Flahardy; Outstanding English Students, Jacob Greeer and Siegfried “Siggi” Schroth; Outstanding Mathematics Student, Rebecca Weber; Outstanding Social Science Student, Kaylee Ridgeway.

The following co-curricular awards were given: AAWCC “Change Makes a Difference” Scholarship, Siegfried “Siggi” Schroth; Student Leadership Recognition Award, Breona Hawkins; Commitment and Dedication Award, Kim Wong; Meritorious Award, Jonathan LeBlond; Outstanding Leadership Awards, Greg Jones and Mary Margaret Kelly; Outstanding Student Leadership Award, Anna Buetow; Most Active Student Senate Award, Abdulrahman Alweh. 

The following President’s Awards were given: 2014 Paul Simon Student Essay Contest Award, Amy Butler; 2014 Phi Theta Kappa All-USA Academic Team/Illinois, Anna Buetow and Kayla Malone; Borad of Trustees’ Merit Scholarship, Abdulrahman Alweh; President’s Distinguished Service Award, Anna Buetow and Tomi Hamlin. 

The following Presidential Citations (4.0 GPA for three consecutive semesters) were awarded: Kelley Avery, Carolyn Baxter, Lonnie Beltz, Drew Bennett, Taylor Bigham, Daniel Boland, Christi Bromley, Dustin Brown, Kelsea Clark, Benjamin Dawson, Europe Doan, Virginia Donoho, Rodney Eigenrauch, Chace Epplin, Drew Ferguson, Tomi Hamlin, Denetta Magruder, Megan McAnelly, Tyler McGowan, Chad Moll, Jennifer Mueller, Tetiana Osnach, Charles Patrick, Kirk Pirtle, Leo Porritt, Carolyn Rinando, Siegfried “Siggi” Schroth, Lauren Sherry, Collin Wece, and Jack Wilson.

The College’s commencement ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 15 at 7 PM in the Donald L. Brewer Gymnasium and Convocation Center.